Trials and Tribulations of Mentorship

     I was very excited to become a mentor towards the end of my freshman year. I was even more pumped when I selected Billy Chillman as my mentee.  Billy and I had an interesting relationship to say the least. Some of my favorite memories occurred at our yearly Mentor-Mentee retreat. We had an especially great time at the outside high ropes course. It was a great activity to build  a strong bond and trust to strengthen the mentor-mentee bond. We found a lot in common with a love for sports  and similar personalities.


     Throughout the year, we were pretty on and off with how much we saw each other and communicated. At times I definitely felt that Billy had his life together more than I did. He was from Beal City, a surrounding city to Mt. Pleasant, so he was very involved with his school and taking different coaching roles. He was also planning on graduating over a year early which was very impressive. At the beginning of the year I was able to help him get adjusted with the college life and get his classes situated, but beyond that he had his life together way more than me. 


     Overall being a mentor had its fill of  ups and downs, but I learned a lot of valuable lessons. In future opportunities to mentor someone, I will be able to take what I learned and improve. I think this experience was valuable to my developement as a leader and will stay with me for the rest of my proffesional career. I am so glad to have met Billy and have this experience.

Leave a Reply

